My Top 25 ‘Must See Films’

In keeping with the whole ‘classical film’ vibe that I have appeared to create for myself in the last couple of blog posts, I thought I would create a list of my top 25 must see films. These are completely based on personal opinion, however, I believed these movies actually had an affect on me, I am not saying they changed my life, but I like to think they may have altered my viewpoint in some way and if they didn’t, I damn well enjoyed them. These are the creme de la creme, the cream of the crop, the top of the list. The cinematography is stunning, the acting is superb and the stories, original or not, are captivating.

In order to appeal to a wider audience, and create an actual list of 25 must-see films, I have not just listed all of Tarantino’s films, or even my favorite films (even though some are my favorites). These are films that I do believe you must see before your die, to put it frankly. Also, due to the lack of time I have, I will not be adding comment to most of the films, so I do apologize for this, I guess you will just have to discover them for yourselves.

Anyhow, here I go. Once again, counting backwards to formulate some kind of tension, despite knowing that none will be delivered.

at number 25..

Die Hard

24. One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest

23. The Third Man

22. Citizen Cane

21. Back to the Future 

20. Lord of the Ring: The Fellowship of the Ring 

19. Heat

18. The Matrix 

17. Casablanca 

16. Once Upon a Town in the West

15. The Godfather: Part II

14. Star Wars: IV A New Hope

13. China Town 

12. Silence of the Lambs

11. The Dark Knight

10. Taxi Driver

9. Fight Club

8. Goodfellas 

7. Apocalypse Now

6. Pulp Fiction

5. Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes BackImage

Nothing in the Star Wars franchise beats this film. The episode is by far the darkest, the heroes loose, and it has the most shocking reveal in possibly the whole of cinema. The acting is better, the filming is better, the pace is faster and it is just better overall. Kershner is an overall more talented and flexible director than Lucas, he focuses more on the actors and the characters rather than the big picture. Not that it is bad, but Lucas often leaves things wooden. This film is much more ambitious than the other Star Wars films.

4. Jaws Image

This film could possibly be Spielberg’s finest. It delivers horror and is thrilling but incredibly basic and on a primal, not a psychological level. John Williams’s incredible score sends shivers and is probably the most memorable movie score. ever. The cast really are flawless. The editing and filming was flawless. The film was pretty much flawless. One of my favorite incorporation’s was the idea taken from Hitchcock’s ‘Vertigo’, in which the camera zooms at an uneasy level, and this captures Brody’s reaction perfectly.

(coincidentally, also my reaction when someone says that they don’t like Jaws)

p.s the film was also the first film to break $100 million in the US box office

3. The Shawshank Redemption Image

Now I had to include some Stephen King, didn’t I? Superb acting, and boasts a fantastic storyline (what King novel doesn’t?), powerful score, beautiful cinematography and possibly the most satisfying ending in film history. It is truly amazing how much empathy and sadness we feel towards the characters in Shawshank, and how much we long for them to be free, even though we are aware of such heinous crimes that they have committed. I can’t fault it.

2. Indiana Jones: The Raiders of the Lost Ark Image

This film contains possibly the best opening 10 minutes in movie history. Through this film Harrison Ford has established himself as one of the greatest heroes of all time. Graced with Lucas’s writing skills, Spielberg’s directing, and Williams’s score, can a movie with such a good line-up go wrong? (apart from a few continuity errors of course). Despite it being produced by George Lucas, it still is pretty amazing. This film is almost perfect, right from the best opening 10 minutes of a film, to its iconic, ironic and pessimistic ending.

and number one…….

*drum roll*

1. The Godfather Image

How to open such an iconic movie? How about an intense monologue from a minor character that doesn’t have that much significance and is scarcely seen? That is exactly why The Godfather is so amazing. The film is purposefully slow paced, to really show the contrasts between the actual plot and the struggle involved and the violence entwined in the story-line. This film is not outdated especially coming from the 70’s. Despite the not-so-impressive cast at the time, the acting is incredible and completely believable  even though the 70’s was the era that birthed ‘method acting’. It is possibly the most quotable movie ever made. This movie isn’t just entertainment; it is a work of art.

Well, that concludes my 25 must see films, I hope you agree and share my opinion, but I would love to hear what everyone else thinks. Please, if you haven’t seen some of these movies, go and watch, they will not disappoint.

I shall leave you with this-

“Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.”- The Shawshank Redemption

10 thoughts on “My Top 25 ‘Must See Films’

      • Agreed! There are way too many good films! My top 5 are “Lord of the Rings” “Its a Wonderful Life” “Pulp Fiction” “Fantastic Mr. Fox” and “The Social Network”

      • Oh god, I forgot to put on ‘Its a Wonderful Life’,that’s a great film! And wow, I have never heard someone deem the social network as one of their top 5! Still a good film though.

Leave a Reply

