BAFTA’s- Highs and Lows

I love Music, and I like to think I have a quite a high amount of musical knowledge building up from vigorous games of ‘Spot the Intro’ and various music fact-books, and although my Music taste is relatively acute, I am content. However, the one thing I love more than music is film, and I am afraid my knowledge is fairly limited. Although, it is safe to say that I am extremely opinionated when it comes to film, much more so than music. Being the opinionated film fanatic that I am- the BAFTA’s were penciled into my metaphorical calender since I can remember.

Now, some awards I couldn’t be more pleased, some I felt more neutral but a fair few made me want to throw my TV out of my window (similarly to Keith Richards or Axl Rose but much more awkwardly and also apologetic for the person who received the wrong end of my TV throwing). I will talk you through my opinions on some of the major awards received at the BAFTA’s.

Best Film- 

Argo-

 I thought Argo to be an OK film, infact, it was a good film, just not ‘Best Film’. Throughout I tried my best to storm my way through, attempting to ignore Ben Affleck and concentrate on the film, although sometimes his ego would become too much and just render the whole screen incomprehensible and completely monotonic. Just another thing for Ben Affleck to add to the already full ego bank, the film that he both directed and starred it. I am going to keep my hat on for you, Affleck.

Leading Actor

Daniel Day-Lewis- Lincoln

I was so incredibly pleased with the outstanding and charming Daniel Day Lewis in Lincoln, so I was completely over the moon when he received Best Leading Actor, after all, he did deserve it. The whole film was incredible, and Daniel Day Lewis shone through all of that. However, despite the film being nominated for 10 awards it only left with one. (If you want more on Lincoln see my review (I feel like I am cheating as I advertise myself))

Director 

Ben Affleck- Argo 

Yet again, the BAFTA’s (Ben Affleck Film and Television Arts). Not that I have anything against Ben Affleck (I do), I just don’t think he is that good of an actor, certainly not a director, (he has the directing skills of Tesco burger) and there were much more suitable nominees such as Tarantino (yes, I know I am bias), Kathyrn Bigelow and Michael Haneke.

Original Screenplay- 

Django Unchained- Quentin Tarantino 

Go Quentin! (p.s please stop talking like a 12 yr old boy when collecting an award, not everything is ‘awsome’)

Supporting Actor 

Christoph Waltz- Django Unchained

I really can’t give Christoph Waltz any more praise, he is one of my favorite actors with limitless talent and a beautiful way of delivering lines. He also seems like the most humble man. Django unchained really did show Christoph Waltz as Tarantino’s muse, or maybe he just played the character exactly how he wanted him to be portrayed. Either way- he completely deserved this award, although I was blown away by Tommy Lee Jones in Lincoln.

Original Music- 

Skyfall- Thomas Newman 

Personally, I believe John Williams to be the winner of this category, producing a stunning score for Lincoln ( I seem to be edging toward Lincoln in most of these, although subconsciously).

Other winners included-

Outstanding British Film- 

Skyfall 

Adapted Screenplay

Silver Linings Playbook – David O. Russell

Leading Actress

Emmanuelle Riva – Amour

Supporting Actress-

Anne Hathaway – Les Miserables

2 thoughts on “BAFTA’s- Highs and Lows

  1. I completely share your disdain for Mr A I cannot even bring myself to type his full name! He is a ridiculously uninspiring actor as for his directing skills I am yet to suffer such a fate!!

    I am also going to admit to sharing your love for Tarantino although he does speak like a prepubescent boy he is just too cool!!

    Great post 😀

    • Thank you for both the compliment and sharing my opinion! Ben Affleck is far to egotistic for someone who can neither act not direct- just another pointless pretty face in Hollywood with no talent! My love for Tarantino grows by the day, he is unusual and extremely talented, go Tarantino!

Leave a Reply

